Word of the Season? Kindness

“I can’t believe you are thanking me for being kind to you! What else would I be?” Actual response to a Christmas card. Well…giphy

Kindness, unfortunately, isn’t a given. I have had a lot of people in my life be very unkind. People in my family, friends of family members, people I have gone to school with, the dentist…you name it. I appreciate kind people, not just to me but in general. I appreciate the people who give up their seat on the subway, the people who bring a hot meal to disabled neighbor. The person who brings food to the food banks, or buys a toy for a kid in need. I am thankful when people open doors for you, hold elevators, let you out in traffic. I am moved to tears when people rescue abused animals, foster unwanted children, visit kids spending their holidays in an ICU. I love the parents who put aside their lives for an hour or two and play cars with their kids, who take the time to read them a story at night, who spend time making memories. I love co-workers who help each other out in times of need, and are there to lift them on their shoulders when they have something good happen. I love bosses that take time to acknowledge each employee and the value they bring to the company.

giphy-4

I honestly take this in to account every single day. Appreciating not only kindness to me or my family, but people being kind to the world and all the things and people that share it. Why? Because there is SO  much unkindness in this world. So much. It is depressing. The news is FILLED with ugliness that can and will break a persons soul. The level of evil that some people are capable of inflicting on other people or animals is despicable. I get physically ill when I see stories of child abuse, senior abuse, attacks on homeless people, animal abuse, wars, terror attacks, racist and sexist comments. The list goes on and for someone who is empathetic, the world can see like an awful place. Filled with hatred, filled with despair.

When people are kind I am reminded that there are good thing and good people. There are people who will light up the dark. And that is my message for the season, for the new year, for as long as we roam the planet. Light up the dark. Practice random acts of kindness Every. Single. Day. It doesn’t go unnoticed.

There have always been people who have tried, despite facing opposition on every front, to spread kindness and love. Some of the most famous? Bob Marley, Gandhi, Misha Collins, The Dalai Lama, Martin Luther King, Jr., John Lennon – to name a few. Be one one of them…Light up the dark. 

Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that. – Martin Luther King, Jr.

Even small acts of kindness can make a profound difference to somebody else. Misha Collins 

Light up the dark – Bob Marley 

Love is the answer  – John Lennon 

You must be the change you wish to see in the world – Gandhi 

Be kind whenever possible, and it is always possible. – The Dalai Lama

Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot, nothing is ever going to get better. Its Not.- Dr. Seuss

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

